Skip to content

Lost

May 24, 2010

I am lost.

I never saw an episode of the TV series Lost but I got an interesting look into the phenomena last night.  With no experience or opinions, I strolled into Angelika Theater in Dallas for what ended up being the largest Lost viewing party in America, 800 strong came out to watch the series finale in three theaters!

I saw 50 year old women with screen printed shirts of their favorite shirtless hunks and huddles of SMU students rattling off their predictions of how it all will end.I don’t think I have ever sat in a theater with such excitement.  People were on the edge of their seats, tweeting during commercial breaks, laughing/gasping/crying in unison.

Luckily for my wife and I there was an hour or so long recap of the entire series that made the finale sort of make sense.  However, I’m not really sure if those tuning in for the past 6 years could really make perfect sense of it either.

During the all important recap, the actors and writers were interviewed and many of them spoke mostly about the relational aspect that moved them in the story.  While I have no idea about the plot, it was interesting how relationships were twisted up in time, death, other worlds and second chances.

What is your opinion of Lost?  What do you make of the ending?  I would love to hear any of your thoughts on the ending and any messages you felt the writers were trying to get across to the audience.

Because I am lost.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Josh permalink
    May 24, 2010 11:15 am

    Great post!

    Beth and I started the show about a month ago… Our Netflix instantqueue has been a blur catching up the 100+ episodes. Sick. I was reticent to watch the show – I knew I would love it. I am a bit of a nerd for weird shows, except new Star Trek incarnations. I refused to watch 24 until season 5, because I knew I would be obsessed (oh man that show is over tonight too… Good thing these shows are ending – I can start reading and being productive again)

    I enjoyed the finale. All along I knew they wouldn’t answer all the questions. How could they? That is where internet forums and the various books that discuss the “theological” significances of Lost come into play. The show did have religious overtones.

    The very fact that I am writing about the theological significances of an ABC show that surrounds other “hits” as “Desperate Housewives,” “Cougar Town,” “The Bachelor,” and “Dancing with the Stars” is troubling to me.

    I don’t know what to think about the “Final Transmissions” that aired before the episode. For people to say that Lost was “the longest relationship in my life” is sad to me. Not simply because it is a show, but that this relationship was not flesh. It is not human. Just think of the investment that could have been put in real people. That is the beauty, I guess, of viewing parties. These shows have the ability to tap into those regions of our humanity, but I really feel like an idiot rambling about social commentary and Lost…

    All in all, I look forward to my Last Day if it is in a LA church (albeit strange) – I just pray that Desmond is alongside me, brother.

  2. May 24, 2010 4:19 pm

    thanks for the comment josh. while i too feel slightly awkward talking about Lost in this format. but this show has really had a profound impact on people.

    i feel like i got the gist of the story without the 6 year commitment. however, i wasn’t connected to the characters like everyone around me was during the show. people cared who came back, if the island was going to blow up, and if the light was going to come back. i didn’t, i hadn’t put in the investment of time and energy.

    from the interviews with the writers i felt the show would probably look to the relationships within the group opposed to answering all the plot questions. something annoying about that but also amazing.

    • Josh permalink
      May 24, 2010 5:39 pm

      I agree. I would be remissed to not think that a tv show can have the same artistic impact on people as a novel, an album, or what have you. I was super pumped to see Charlie back (gotta love a Man Utd. fan).

Leave a Reply

